LAMA Poconos 2012 Scholarship Recipient

Congratulations to Alondra Maldonado.

Alondra is the Recipient of the Jovan X. Caraballo Scholarship for 2016.  Alondra and her Mom attended the Chapter's Membership meeting on Sunday, June 19, 2016 whereby Alondra read her winning essay, and received her $2,000.00 scholarship check.  Alondra will be attending Lehigh University in September where she will major in pre-med.  The chapter awards a $2,000.00 scholarship every year to a graduating High School student in Monroe County.  Thank you to the American Legion Post 927 and the Sons of the American Legion Post 927 who made this possible by donating funds to the Scholarship fund. Channel 16 WNEP was there to capture the story of how LAMA Poconos gives back to the community. 

From Left to Right in photo:  Freddy Reyes, Secretary, LAMA Poconos, John Schaffer, VP, LAMA Poconos, Mrs. Maldonado, Alondra's Mom, Alondra Maldonado, Award Recipient, Angelo Melendez, Treasurer, LAMA Poconos, Michelle Melendez, Chairperson, Scholarship Committee and Moto-Touring Commissioner, Julio Cruz, Business Manager, LAMA Poconos,
Danny Alicea, President, LAMA Poconos and National Secretary of LAMA USA

Christopher Vo is the winner of 2017 Jovan X. Caraballo Memorial Scholarship! At our monthly meeting this past Sunday, May 28th, he read his very impressive essay regarding his extracurricular activities at his High School where he made a positivie impact in the community.  Pictured here at our Memorial Day Bike Night he received his $2000 Scholarship Check.  Congratulations to Chris!!!

In the pictures:  Christopher Vo and his family, Danny Alicea, Lama Poconos President, Angelo Melendez, Lama Poconos VP, Freddy Reyes, Lama Ponocos BM, and Antonio Mejias our Newsletter Editor.

In the photos below the LAMA Pocono 2015 Scholarship presentation at Texas Roadhouse in Stroudsburg. The restaurant sponsored the event by providing a dinner buffet. In the center of photos is the Scholarship Award Recipient Mr. Cole J. Secor, graduate of Stroudsburg High School, his parents, LAMA Poconos President Danny Alicea, Scholarship Chairman Jay Casiano and Scholarship Co-Chair Michelle Melendez. 



Jovan X. Caraballo Memorial Scholarship 


 LAMA Poconos 2014 Scholarship Recipient

​​Ms. Altiera Wiggins was the awardee of the $2,000.00 Jovan X. Caraballo Memorial Scholarship for 2012.  Ms. Wiggins graduated from Pocono Mountain West High School. 


 LAMA Poconos 2013 Scholarship Recipient


Mr. Jack Wathen IV was the awardee of the $2,000.00 Jovan X. Caraballo Memorial Scholarship for 2013.  Mr. Wathen graduated from Pleasant Valley High School.

In the photo, the LAMA Scholarship committee members: LAMA Executive Board Members, Jack in the center surrounded by his family. 


 LAMA Poconos 2016 Scholarship Recipient

​​​​​​ Ms. Briana Ragonese,  graduate of East Stroudsburg  High School was awarded the $2,000.00 LAMA Jovan X. Caraballo Memorial Scholarship for 2014.

From left to right in the picture:  LAMA Pocono Scholarship Chairman Mr. Jay Casiano, Ms. Briana Ragonese, Scholarship Recipient and from LAMA Pocono Scholarship Committee Ms. Maureen Casiano .​


 LAMA Poconos 2015 Scholarship Recipient


 LAMA Poconos 2017 Scholarship Recipient



Copyright © LAMA POCONO CHAPTER. All Rights Reserved.